Skip to main content
We are Brand SEO Beijing serving international business, your marketing partner, Contact us by mi@mgsh.com.cn

Chapter 101: Standard SEOXNUMX

We are glad you are here!If you already have a solid understanding of SEO and why it's important, you can skip to Chapter 2 (though we still recommend browsing Google and Bing best practices at the end of this chapter; they're useful refreshments).For others, this chapter will help build your foundational SEO knowledge and confidence as you move forward.

What is search engine optimization?

Search Engine OptimizationStands for "Search Engine Optimization".This is the practice of increasing the quality and quantity of website traffic and brand exposure through non-paid (also known as "organic" or "natural") search engine results.

Despite the acronym, there are as many search engines themselves as there are search engines.It's about understanding what people are searching for online, the answers they're looking for, the words they're using, and the type of content they're looking to consume.Knowing the answers to these questions will allow you to connect to people searching online for the solutions you offer.

If knowing the intent of your audience is one aspect of the SEO coin, delivering it in a way that search engine crawlers can discover and understand is another.In this guide, look forward to learning how to do both.

Search Engine Basics

Search engines are answer machines.They search billions of content and evaluate thousands of factors to determine which ones are most likely to answer your query.

Search engines discover and catalog all available content (web pages, PDFs, images, videos, etc.) on the Internet through a process called "crawling and indexing" and then sort them according to how well they match in what we call "ranking" query during the process.We'll cover crawling, indexing, and ranking in more detail in the next chapter.

Which search results are "organic"/naturally ranked?

As we said earlier, organic search results are obtained through effective SEO, not paid (i.e. not advertising).These used to be easy to spot - ads were clearly marked as such, and the rest of the results usually took the form of the "10 blue links" listed below.But as search patterns change, how do we discover organic results today?

Today, search engine results pages (often referred to as "SERPs") are filled with more advertisements and more dynamic organic result formats (called "SERP features") than we were before. Some examples of SERP features are featured snippets (or answer boxes), people also ask boxes, image carousels, etc.New SERP features are constantly emerging, mostly driven by what people seek.

For example, if you search for "denver weather," you'll see the weather forecast for Denver directly in the SERPs, rather than a link to a site that might have it.If you search for "Denver pizza," you'll see a "local pack" result consisting of Denver pizzas.Convenient, right?

It's important to remember that search engines make money from advertising.Their goal is to better address searcher queries (in the SERPs), keep searchers coming back, and keep them on the SERPs longer.

Some SERP features on Google are organic and can be affected by SEO.These include Featured Snippets (promoted organic results that show the answer in a box) and Related Questions (aka the "People Also Ask" box).

It's worth noting that there are many other search features that aren't usually affected by SEO, even if they're not paid ads.These functions often have data obtained from proprietary data sources such as Wikipedia, WebMD, and IMDb.

Why SEO Matters

While paid advertising, social media, and other online platforms can generate website traffic, most online traffic is driven by search engines.

Organic search results cover more digital real estate, are more credible to savvy searchers, and receive more clicks than paid ads.For example, in all US searches,Only about 2.8% click on paid ads(Many Chinese people do not understand what is advertising and what is natural ranking, so this pay-per-click ratio is higher, but the specific number is only available in Baidu).

In short: SEO has 20x more traffic opportunities than PPC on mobile and desktop.

SEO is also one of the only online marketing channels that, if set up properly, can continue to pay dividends over time.If you provide solid content that is worth ranking for the right keywords, your traffic can snowball over time, and advertising needs constant money to send traffic to your website.

Search engines are getting smarter, but they still need our help.

Optimizing your website will help provide better information to search engines so that your content can be properly indexed and displayed in search results.

Should I Hire an SEO Professional, Consultant or Agency?

Depending on your bandwidth, willingness to learn, and the complexity of your website, you can perform some basic SEO on your own.Alternatively, you may find that you prefer the help of an expert.Either way is fine!

If you do end up seeking expert help, it's important to know that many agencies and consultants "offer SEO services," but the quality varies widely.Knowing how to choose a good SEO company can save you a lot of time and money, as the wrong SEO techniques can actually do more harm to your website than they help.

White Hat vs Black Hat

"White hat SEO" refers to SEO techniques, best practices, and strategies that follow the rules of search engines, and its main focus is to provide more value to people.

"Black hat-SEO" Black hat SEO refers to techniques and tactics that attempt to spam/deceive search engines.While black hat-SEO can work, it puts the site at huge risk of being penalized and/or de-indexed (removed from search results) and has ethical implications.

Penalty sites have bankrupted businesses.This is just another reason to be very careful when choosing an SEO specialist or agency.

Search engines share similar goals with the SEO industry

Search engines want to help you succeed.In fact, Google even has a Beginner's Guide to SEO, just like our own Beginner's Guide to SEO!They are also very supportive of the efforts of the SEO community.Digital marketing conferences - like UNBUNCE, MNsearch, SearchLove and Moz's own MozCon - regularly attract engineers and representatives from major search engines.

Google assists webmasters and SEOs with their webmasters central help forum and hosts live office hour summaries (Unfortunately, Bing shut down their webmaster forum in 2014.)

While webmaster guidelines vary by search engine, the basic principle remains the same: don't try to trick search engines.Instead, provide your visitors with a great online experience.To do so, follow search engine guidelines and fulfill user intent.

Google Webmaster Guidelines

The basic principle:

  • Make pages primarily for users, not search engines.
  • Don't trick your users.
  • Avoid techniques designed to improve search engine rankings.A good rule of thumb is whether you are willing to explain to Googlers what you do with your website.Another useful test is to ask: "Will this help my users? Would I do this if the search engine didn't exist?"
  • Think about what makes your website unique, valuable or attractive.

Things to avoid:

  • auto-generated content
  • Participate in the Link Program
  • Create pages with little or no original content (i.e. copied from elsewhere)
  • Stealth - The practice of showing search engine crawlers different content than visitors.
  • Hidden text and links
  • Doorway Pages - Create pages to rank well for specific searches in order to funnel traffic to your website.

Bing Network Administrator's Guide

The basic principle:

  • Provide clear, in-depth, engaging, and easy-to-find content on your website.
  • Keep page titles clear and relevant.
  • Links are considered a welcome signal, and Bing rewards links for organic growth.
  • Social reach and social shares are positive signals that can influence the way you rank organically over the long term.
  • Page speed is important, along with a positive, useful user experience.
  • Use the alt attribute to describe the image so that Bing can better understand the content.

Things to avoid:

  • Thin content, pages that primarily display ads or affiliate links, or pages that otherwise redirect visitors to other sites rank poorly.
  • Abusive link strategies designed to inflate the number and nature of inbound links (e.g. buying links, participating in link schemes) can lead to de-indexing.
  • Make sure that a clean, concise, keyword-containing URL structure is in place.Dynamic parameters can smudge URLs and cause duplicate content issues.
  • Keep your URLs as descriptive, short, keyword-rich as possible, and avoid non-alphabetic characters.
  • Bury links with Javascript/Flash/Silverlight; keep those.
  • Duplicate content
  • keyword stuffing
  • Hidden Pages - The practice of showing search engine crawlers different content than visitors.

Guidelines for Representing Local Businesses on Google

If your business performing SEO work operates locally, whether it's performing services out of a store or driving to a customer's location, it qualifies for a Google My business listing.For local businesses like this, Google has guidelines governing what you should and shouldn't do when creating and managing these listings.

The basic principle:

  • Make sure you're eligible to join the Google My Business index; you must have a physical address, even if it's your home address, and you must meet customers face-to-face at your location (like a retail store) or their location (like a plumber) Provide services
  • Honestly and accurately represent all aspects of your local business data, including its name, address, phone number, website address, business category, hours of operation, and other features.

things to avoid

  • Create Google My Business listings for ineligible entities
  • Misreporting any of your core business information, including "stuffing" your business name with geographic or service keywords, or creating fake address listings
  • Use PO boxes or virtual offices instead of real street addresses
  • Abusing the review section of the Google My business listing by making false positive reviews about your business or false negative reviews about your competitors
  • Expensive newbie mistakes caused by failing to read the details of Google's guide

Local, National or International SEO?

Local businesses often want to rank for local intent keywords such as "[service]+[around me]" or "[service]+[city]" in order to capture potential customers searching for products or services in the specific area they offer.However, not all businesses operate locally.Many websites do not represent location-based businesses, but target audiences at a national or even international level.See the topic on local, national and international SEO in Chapter 4!

Analyze and meet user intent

Instead of trying to trick search engines into ranking higher by violating these guidelines, focus on understanding and fulfilling user intent.When a person searches for something, they get expected results.Whether it's an answer, a concert ticket, or a cat photo, what's required is their "user intent"

If a person searches for "band," are they going to find a band, a wedding band, a band saw, or something else?

Your job as an SEO is to quickly give users the content they want in the format they want.

Common types of user intent:

  • Information: Search for information.For example: "What's the best laptop for photography?"
  • Navigation: Search for a specific website.Example: "apple"
  • Transactions: Search for something to buy.Example: "Good deal on MacBook PRO"

You can browse user intent by browsing for the desired keywords and evaluating the current SERPs.For example, if there is a photo carousel, people searching for that keyword are likely to search for photos.

Also evaluate what your top competitors are currently offering.How can you provide 10x the value on your website?

Having relevant, high-quality content on your website will help you rank higher in search results and, more importantly, it will build credibility and trust with your online audience.

Before that, you must first understand your website's goals for executing a strategic SEO plan.

Understand the goals of your website/client

Every website is different, so take the time to really understand the business goals of a particular website.Not only will this help you determine which areas of SEO you should focus on, where to track conversions, and how to set benchmarks, it will also help you create talking points for negotiating SEO projects with clients, bosses, and more.

How will your KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) measure SEO return on investment?More simply, what is the barometer for measuring the success of an organic search effort?You want to log it, even if it's as simple as:

For the site ________________________.

Here are some common KPIs to get you started:

  • Sales
  • download
  • Email registration
  • Contact form submission
  • 电话
  • If your business has a local component, you will also need to define KPIs for your Google My business listing.These may include:
  • click to call
  • Click on the website
  • Clicks-for-driving-directions

You may have noticed that things like "ranking" and "traffic" are not on the KPI list, that's on purpose.

"But wait a minute you say." I came here to learn about SEO because I heard it helps me with rankings and traffic, and you're telling me these aren't important goals? "

Not at all!You heard right. SEO can help your website rank higher in search results and thus drive more website traffic, and it is ranking and traffic that are means to an end.If no one clicks on your website, it's of little use in terms of rankings, and increasing traffic is of little use if that traffic isn't fulfilling a larger business goal.

For example, if you run a lead generation site, you'd rather have:

  • 1000 monthly visitors and 3 people filling out a contact form?or. . .
  • 300 monthly visitors and 40 people filling out a contact form?
  • If you're using SEO to drive traffic to your site for conversions, we want you to choose the latter!Before you start SEO, make sure you have business goals in place, and then use SEO to help you accomplish those goals—not the other way around.
  • SEO accomplishes more than just vanity metrics.Done right, it can help real businesses achieve their real goal of being successful.

Setting (and ultimately achieving) the right goals is one of the most important things you can do as an SEO.We even have a handy whiteboard on Friday on how to set smart, measurable goals for your clients!

This guide will help you become more data-driven in your SEO efforts.Grab a cup of coffee and let's dive into Chapter 2 (How Search Engines Work - Crawling, Indexing and Ranking).

Brand Marketing米国生活range.png

Extended reading:

Google SEO Reference [SEO Terms and Meanings]

How to make your brand appear on the first page of search engines

Types of Brand Negative Public Opinion and Negative Handling

Brand reputation index evaluates five-star enterprises

米国生活The founder was hired as an expert in the brand marketing industry think tank of the Central Academy of Management

 

Back to Top

跳到主要内容

第一章:标准SEO101

文章系列 SEO标准化

我们很高兴你在这里!如果您已经对SEO及其重要原因有了深入的了解,您可以跳到第2章(尽管我们仍然建议在本章末尾浏览Google和Bing的最佳实践;他们是有用的茶点)。对于其他人来说,本章将有助于在您前进时建立您的基础SEO知识和信心。

什么是搜索引擎优化?

SEO代表“搜索引擎优化”。这是通过非付费(也称为“有机/organic”或者“自然搜索”)搜索引擎结果来提高网站流量的质量和数量以及对品牌的曝光度的做法。

尽管有首字母缩略词,但搜索引擎本身与搜索引擎一样多。这是关于了解人们在网上搜索的内容,他们正在寻求的答案,他们正在使用的单词以及他们希望消费的内容类型。了解这些问题的答案将使您能够连接到在线搜索您提供的解决方案的人员。

如果知道你的观众的意图是SEO硬币的一个方面,那么以一种搜索引擎爬行者可以发现和理解的方式交付它就是另一个。在本指南中,请期待学习如何做到这两者。

搜索引擎基础

搜索引擎是答案机器。他们搜索数十亿个内容并评估数千个因素,以确定哪些内容最有可能回答您的查询。

搜索引擎通过称为“爬行和索引”的过程发现和编目互联网上的所有可用内容(网页,PDF,图像,视频等),然后根据其匹配程度对其进行排序在我们称之为“排名”的过程中查询。我们将涵盖爬行,索引,并在下一章中更详细地排名。

哪些搜索结果是“有机organic”/自然排名的?

正如我们前面所说,有机搜索结果是通过有效的搜索引擎优化获得的,而不是付费的(即不是广告)。这些曾经很容易发现-广告被清楚地标记为这样,其余的结果通常采用下面列出的“10个蓝色链接”的形式。但是随着搜索方式的改变,我们今天如何发现有机结果?

如今,搜索引擎结果页面(通常称为“SERP”)充满了比我们以前更多的广告和更动态的有机结果格式(称为“SERP功能”)。SERP功能的一些示例是特色片段(或答案框),人们还询问框,图像传送带等。新的SERP功能不断出现,主要受人们寻求的驱动。

例如,如果您搜索“丹佛天气”,您将直接在SERP中看到丹佛市的天气预报,而不是指向可能有该预报的站点的链接。如果你搜索“丹佛比萨饼”,你会看到一个由丹佛比萨饼组成的“本地包”结果。方便,对吗?

重要的是要记住,搜索引擎从广告中获利。他们的目标是更好地解决搜索者的查询(在SERP中),让搜索者回来,并使他们在SERP上的时间更长。

Google上的一些SERP功能是有机的,可能会受到SEO的影响。这些包括特色片段(在框内显示答案的推广有机结果)和相关问题(又称“人们也问”框)。

值得注意的是,还有许多其他搜索功能,即使它们不是付费广告,也通常不会受到SEO的影响。这些功能通常具有从专有数据源(例如Wikipedia,WebMD和IMDb)获取的数据。

为什么SEO很重要

虽然付费广告,社交媒体和其他在线平台可以生成网站流量,但大多数在线流量都是由搜索引擎驱动的。

有机搜索结果覆盖更多的数字房地产,对精明的搜索者来说更可信,并且收到的点击次数多于付费广告。例如,在所有美国搜索中,只有约2.8%的人点击付费广告(国人很多人不明白什么是广告什么是自然排名,所以这个点击付费比率要高,但具体数字只有百度有)。

简而言之:在移动和桌面上,SEO的流量机会比PPC多20倍。

搜索引擎优化也是唯一的在线营销渠道之一,如果设置得当,可以随着时间的推移继续支付股息。如果您提供了值得为正确的关键字排名的可靠内容,则您的流量可以随着时间的推移而滚雪球,而广告需要持续的资金来将流量发送到您的网站。

搜索引擎变得越来越聪明,但他们仍然需要我们的帮助。

优化您的网站将有助于向搜索引擎提供更好的信息,以便您的内容可以在搜索结果中正确索引和显示。

我应该聘请搜索引擎优化专业人士,顾问还是代理?

根据您的带宽,学习意愿和网站的复杂性,您可以自己执行一些基本的SEO。或者,您可能会发现您更喜欢专家的帮助。无论哪种方式都可以!

如果您最终寻求专家帮助,重要的是要知道许多机构和顾问“提供搜索引擎优化服务”,但质量差异很大。知道如何选择一个好的搜索引擎优化公司可以为您节省大量时间和金钱,因为错误的搜索引擎优化技术实际上可能会对您的网站造成的伤害超过他们的帮助。

白帽vs黑帽

“白帽搜索引擎优化”是指遵守搜索引擎规则的搜索引擎优化技术,最佳实践和策略,它的主要重点是为人们提供更多价值。

“Black hat-SEO”黑帽SEO是指试图垃圾邮件/欺骗搜索引擎的技术和策略。虽然black hat-SEO可以工作,但它会使网站面临受到惩罚和/或取消索引(从搜索结果中删除)的巨大风险,并具有道德影响。

惩罚性网站已经使业务破产。这只是选择搜索引擎优化专家或代理时要非常小心的另一个原因。

搜索引擎与搜索引擎优化行业有着类似的目标

搜索引擎希望帮助您成功。事实上,Google甚至有一个搜索引擎优化入门指南,就像我们自己的SEO入门指南一样!他们也非常支持搜索引擎优化社区的努力。数字营销会议-如UNBUNCE,MNsearch,SearchLove和Moz自己的MozCon-定期吸引主要搜索引擎的工程师和代表。

谷歌通过他们的网络管理员中央帮助论坛和主持现场办公时间的总结来协助网络管理员和SEO(不幸的是,Bing在2014年关闭了他们的网络主论坛。)

虽然webmaster指南因搜索引擎而异,但基本原则保持不变:不要试图欺骗搜索引擎。相反,为您的访客提供精彩的在线体验。为此,请遵循搜索引擎指南并履行用户意图。

Google Webmaster指南

基本原则:

  • 主要为用户制作页面,而不是搜索引擎。
  • 不要欺骗你的用户。
  • 避免旨在提高搜索引擎排名的技巧。一个好的经验法则是,您是否愿意向Google员工解释您对网站所做的事情。另一个有用的测试是问:“这对我的用户有帮助吗?如果搜索引擎不存在,我会这样做吗?”
  • 想想是什么让你的网站独特,有价值或有吸引力。

需要避免的事情:

  • 自动生成的内容
  • 参与链接计划
  • 创建很少或没有原始内容的页面(即从其他地方复制)
  • 隐形-显示搜索引擎爬行者与访客不同内容的做法。
  • 隐藏的文本和链接
  • 门口页面-创建页面以便在特定搜索中排名良好,以便将流量漏斗到您的网站。

Bing网络管理员指南

基本原则:

  • 在您的网站上提供清晰,深入,吸引人且易于查找的内容。
  • 保持页面标题清晰相关。
  • 链接被认为是受欢迎的信号,并且Bing奖励链接有机地增长。
  • 社会影响力和社会份额是积极的信号,可以影响您长期有机排名的方式。
  • 页面速度很重要,同时还有积极,有用的用户体验。
  • 使用alt属性来描述图像,以便Bing可以更好地理解内容。

需要避免的事情:

  • 瘦内容,主要显示广告或会员链接的页面,或以其他方式将访问者重定向到其他网站的页面排名不佳。
  • 旨在夸大入站链路的数量和性质的滥用链路策略(例如购买链路,参与链路方案)可能导致解除索引。
  • 确保干净,简洁,包含关键字的URL结构到位。动态参数可能会弄脏URL并导致重复的内容问题。
  • 尽可能使您的URL具有描述性,简短性,关键字丰富性,并避免使用非字母字符。
  • 用Javascript/Flash/Silverlight掩埋链接;保留这些内容。
  • 重复内容
  • 关键词填充
  • 隐藏页-显示搜索引擎爬行者与访客不同内容的做法。

在Google上代表本地业务的准则

如果您执行SEO工作的业务在本地运营,无论是在店外还是开车到客户所在地执行服务,它都有资格获得Google My业务列表。对于像这样的本地企业,Google有指导方针来管理您在创建和管理这些列表时应该做什么和不应该做什么。

基本原则:

  • 确保您有资格加入Google My Business index;您必须有一个实际地址,即使它是您的家庭住址,并且您必须在您的位置(如零售商店)或他们的位置(如水管工)面对面地为客户提供服务
  • 诚实准确地表示您当地业务数据的各个方面,包括其姓名,地址,电话号码,网站地址,业务类别,运营时间和其他功能。

需要避免的事情

  • 为不符合条件的实体创建Google我的业务列表
  • 误报您的任何核心业务信息,包括用地理或服务关键字“填充”您的业务名称,或创建假地址列表
  • 使用PO盒或虚拟办公室代替真实的街道地址
  • 通过对您的业务进行虚假正面评论或对竞争对手进行虚假负面评论,滥用Google My业务清单的审核部分
  • 由于未能阅读Google指南的详细信息而导致的昂贵的新手错误

本地,国家或国际搜索引擎优化?

本地企业通常希望对本地意图关键字进行排名,例如“[服务]+[我周边]”或“[服务]+[城市]”,以便捕获潜在客户,在他们提供的特定区域搜索产品或服务。但是,并非所有企业都在本地运营。许多网站并不代表基于地点的业务,而是针对国家甚至国际层面的受众。请参阅第4章中关于本地,国家和国际搜索引擎优化的主题!

分析并满足用户意图

不违反这些准则试图欺骗搜索引擎排名更高,而是专注于理解和履行用户意图。当一个人搜索某些东西时,他们会得到预期的结果。无论是答案,音乐会票还是猫照片,所需内容都是他们的“用户意图”

如果一个人搜索“乐队”,他们是否打算找到乐队,结婚乐队,乐队锯或其他东西?

您作为SEO的工作是以他们想要的格式快速为用户提供他们想要的内容。

常见的用户意图类型:

  • 信息:搜索信息。例如:“什么是最好的摄影笔记本电脑?”
  • 导航:搜索特定网站。示例:“苹果”
  • 交易:搜索购买东西。例如:“MacBook PRO的良好交易”

您可以通过浏览所需的关键字并评估当前的SERP来浏览用户意图。例如,如果有照片转盘,那么搜索该关键字的人很可能会搜索照片。

同时评估您的顶级竞争对手目前提供的内容。你怎样才能在你的网站上提供10倍的价值?

在您的网站上提供相关的高质量内容将有助于您在搜索结果中排名更高,更重要的是,它将建立信誉和信任您的在线受众。

在此之前,您必须首先了解您网站执行战略搜索引擎优化计划的目标。

了解您的网站/客户的目标

每个网站都不同,所以花时间真正了解特定网站的业务目标。这不仅可以帮助您确定您应该关注的SEO的哪些领域,跟踪转换的位置以及如何设置基准,还可以帮助您创建与客户,老板等谈判SEO项目的谈话要点。

您的关键绩效指标(关键绩效指标)将如何衡量SEO投资回报?更简单地说,衡量有机搜索工作成功的晴雨表是什么?你想把它记录下来,即使它很简单:

对于网站_________________________。

以下是一些常见的KPI,可让您入门:

  • 销售额
  • 下载
  • 电子邮件注册
  • 联系表格提交
  • 电话
  • 如果您的业务有本地组件,您还需要为Google My业务列表定义KPI。这些可能包括:
  • 点击呼叫
  • 点击网站
  • 点击驾驶方向Clicks-for-driving-directions

您可能已经注意到“排名”和“流量”等内容不在KPI列表中,这是故意的。

“但等一分钟你说。”我来到这里了解搜索引擎优化,因为我听说它可以帮助我排名和交通,你告诉我这些不是重要的目标?”

一点也不!你听正确了。SEO可以帮助您的网站在搜索结果中排名更高,从而推动更多的网站流量,正是排名和流量是达到目的的手段。如果没有人点击您的网站,那么在排名方面没有什么用处,如果该流量没有实现更大的业务目标,则增加流量几乎没有用。

例如,如果您运行一个铅代站点,您宁愿拥有:

  • 每月1000名访客和3人填写联系表格?或者。。。
  • 300名每月访客和40人填写联系表?
  • 如果您正在使用SEO驱动站点流量以进行转换,我们希望您选择后者!在开始搜索引擎优化之前,请确保您已经制定了业务目标,然后使用搜索引擎优化来帮助您完成这些目标-而不是相反。
  • SEO完成的不仅仅是虚荣指标。如果做得好,它可以帮助真正的企业实现他们成功的真正目标。

设置(并最终实现)正确的目标是您可以作为SEO执行的最重要的事情之一。星期五我们甚至有一个方便的白板,就是如何为您的客户设定聪明,可衡量的目标!

本指南将帮助您在SEO工作中变得更加数据驱动。喝杯咖啡,让我们深入讨论第2章(搜索引擎如何工作-爬行,索引和排名)。

品牌营销米国生活范围.png

延伸阅读:

谷歌SEO参考【SEO术语和含义】

如何让品牌出现先在搜索引擎首页

品牌负面舆情的种类以及负面处理方式

品牌口碑指数评价五星级企业

米国生活创始人被聘为中管院品牌营销行业智库专家

 

返回顶部