Skip to main content
We are Brand SEO Beijing serving international business, your marketing partner, Contact us by mi@mgsh.com.cn

Chapter XNUMX: Keyword Research - Understanding What Users Want to Search

Now that you know how to appear in search results, let's determine which strategic keywords to target in your website content and how to craft your content to meet the needs of users and search engines.The power of keyword research lies in gaining a better understanding of your target market and how they search for your content, services or products.

Keyword research gives you specific search data that can help you answer questions like:

  • What are people looking for?
  • How many people are looking for it?
  • What format of information do they want?

In this chapter, you'll gain tools and strategies to uncover this information, as well as strategies to help you avoid keyword research pitfalls and build strong content.Once you discover how your target audience is searching for your content, you begin to discover a whole new world of strategic SEO!

Before doing keyword research, ask questions

Before you can help a business grow through SEO, you must first understand who they are, who their customers are, and what their goals are.

This is where people often take shortcuts.Too many people bypass this critical planning step because keyword research takes time, so why spend it when you already know you want to rank?

The answer is that what you want to rank for and what your audience really wants are often two very different things.Focusing on your audience and then using keyword data to hone those insights will be more successful than focusing on arbitrary keywords.

Here is an example. Frankie & Jo's (a Seattle-based vegan gluten-free ice cream shop) heard about SEO and wanted to help improve how and how often they appeared in organic search results.To help them, you first need to know more about their customers.To do this, you can ask the following questions: Who/What/When/Why/How/Where

  • What types of ice cream, desserts, snacks, etc. are people looking for?
  • Who is searching for these terms?
  • When are people looking for ice cream, snacks, desserts and more. ?
  • Are there seasonal trends throughout the year?
  • How do people find ice cream?
  • What words do they use?
  • What questions do they ask?
  • Do more searches on mobile?
  • Why are people looking for ice cream?
  • Are individuals specifically looking for health-conscious ice cream, or just to satisfy a sweet tooth?
  • Where are potential customers located?Local, national or international?
  • Finally - and here's the key - how can you help provide the best content about ice cream to foster a community and achieve what all these people are looking for?Asking these questions is a key planning step that will guide your keyword research and help you produce better content.
  • What does this word mean?

Remember, if you're stumped by any of the terms used in this chapter, our SEO glossary is here to help!

What terms are people looking for?

You may have a way of describing what you do, but how does your audience search for the products, services or information you offer?Answering this question is a crucial first step in the keyword research process.

find keywords

You probably have some keywords that you want to rank for.These will be your website addresses like your products, services, or other topics, and they are great seed keywords for your research, so start there!You can enter these keywords into a keyword research tool to discover the average monthly search volume and similar keywords.In the next section, we'll take a deeper look at search volume, but during the discovery phase, it can help you determine which variations of your keyword are the most popular among searchers.

Once you've entered your seed keywords into a keyword research tool, you'll start uncovering other keywords, FAQs, and content topics you might have missed.

Let's take the example of a flower shop that specializes in weddings.

Type "wedding" and "floral shop" into a keyword research tool and you may find highly relevant, highly searched related terms such as:

  • wedding bouquet
  • bridal flower
  • wedding flower shop

During the process of finding relevant keywords for your content, you may notice a large variation in search volume for these keywords.While you definitely want to target the term your audience is searching for, but in some cases it may be more beneficial to target terms with lower search volume because they are much less competitive.

Because both high and low competition keywords are good for your website, so learning more about search volume can help you determine your keyword’spriority, and choose those keywords that will give your site the greatest strategic advantage.

diversification

It's important to note that entire sites don't rank for keywords - pages do.For big brands, we often see homepage rankings for many keywords, but for most sites this is usually not the case.Many websites receive more page traffic than the homepage, which is why it’s so important to diversify your website pages by optimizing each page for unique keywords of value.

How often are these terms searched?

Discover search volume

The higher the search volume for a given keyword or keyword phrase, the more work it usually takes to rank higher.This is often referred to as keyword difficulty, and occasionally includes SERP features; for example, difficulty increases if many SERP features (such as feature snippets, knowledge graphs, carousels, etc.) block the keyword's results page.Big brands often occupy the top ten for high-volume keywords,So if you're just starting to search the web for the same keywords, the uphill battle to rank can take years.

Generally, the greater the search volume, the greater the competition and effort required to achieve organic ranking success.However, if the search rate is too low, you risk not attracting any searchers to your site.In many cases, targeting highly specific, less competitive search terms may be most beneficial.In SEO, we call them long tail keywords.

understand the long tail

It would be great to be able to rank 1 for the keyword "shoes". . .Still will?

It's great to deal with keywords that have 50000 searches per month, or even 5000 searches per month, but in reality, these popular search terms make up a tiny fraction of all searches on the web.In fact, keywords with very high search volume may even indicate unclear intent, and if you target those terms, you risk attracting visitors to your site whose goals don’t match the content of your page.

The remaining 75% are in the "middle chunk" and "long tail" of searches.
Keyword Research - Theory of Long Tail Words
Don't underestimate these less popular keywords.Long-tail keywords with lower search volume generally convert better because searchers are more specific and intentional in their searches.For example, a person searching for "shoes" might just browse.On the other hand, someone was searching for "best cheap red women's size 7 running shoes" and their wallet was almost empty!

Use search volume for strategic information

Now that you've found relevant search terms for your site and their corresponding search volumes, you can gain more strategic information by looking at your competitors and finding out how searches differ by season or location.

Keywords by competitor

You may compile a lot of keywords.How do you know which to deal with first?It may be a good idea to prioritize a large number of keywords that your competitors are not currently ranking for.On the other hand, you can also see from your list which keywords your competitors are already ranking for and prioritize those keywords.The former is great when you want to take advantage of opportunities that your competitors are missing, while the latter is an aggressive strategy that lets you compete for keywords that your competitors are already doing well.

Keywords by season

Understanding seasonal trends can help with content strategy.For example, if you know that "Christmas Box" starts to proliferate in the UK from October to December, you can prepare content months in advance and promote it heavily during those months.

Regional keywords

You can target specific locations more strategically by narrowing your keyword searches to specific towns, counties, or states in Google Keyword Planner, or evaluating "Interest by Subregion" in Google Trends.Geo-specific research helps make your content more relevant to your target audience.For example, you might find that in Texas the preferred term for large trucks is "big rig", while in New York "towing trailer" is the preferred term.

Brand Marketing米国生活range.png

Extended reading:

Google SEO Reference [SEO Terms and Meanings]

Chapter 101: Standard SEOXNUMX

Chapter XNUMX: How Search Engines Work: Crawling, Indexing and Ranking

What brand marketing solution is Brand Funnel BOO?

Back to Top

跳到主要内容

第三章:关键词研究-理解用户想要搜什么

文章系列 SEO标准化

现在,您已经了解了如何在搜索结果中显示,让我们确定在您的网站内容中针对哪些战略性关键字,以及如何精心设计内容以满足用户和搜索引擎的需求。关键词研究的力量在于更好地了解你的目标市场以及他们如何搜索你的内容、服务或产品。

关键字研究为您提供了特定的搜索数据,可以帮助您回答以下问题:

  • 人们在寻找什么?
  • 有多少人在找它?
  • 他们想要什么格式的信息?

在本章中,您将获得揭露这些信息的工具和策略,以及帮助您避免关键字研究缺陷和构建强大内容的策略。一旦你发现你的目标受众是如何搜索你的内容的,你就开始发现一个全新的战略搜索引擎优化世界!

在进行关键词研究之前,先提问

在通过搜索引擎优化帮助企业发展之前,您首先必须了解他们是谁、他们的客户是谁以及他们的目标。

这是人们经常抄近路的地方。太多人绕过了这个关键的计划步骤,因为关键字研究需要时间,为什么要在你已经知道自己想要排名的时候花时间呢?

答案是,你想要的排名和你的观众真正想要的往往是两件截然不同的事情。专注于你的受众,然后使用关键词数据来磨练这些洞见,这将比专注于任意关键词更为成功。

这里有一个例子。Frankie&Jo’s(一家总部位于西雅图的纯素无麸质冰淇淋店)听说了SEO,希望帮助改进它们在有机搜索结果中的显示方式和频率。为了帮助他们,您首先需要更多地了解他们的客户。为此,您可以提出以下问题:Who/What/When/Why/How/Where

  • 人们在寻找什么类型的冰淇淋、甜点、零食等?
  • 谁在搜索这些术语?
  • 人们什么时候在寻找冰淇淋、零食、甜点等。?
  • 全年是否有季节性趋势?
  • 人们是如何寻找冰淇淋的?
  • 他们用什么词?
  • 他们问什么问题?
  • 是否在移动设备上执行更多搜索?
  • 为什么人们在寻找冰淇淋?
  • 个人是专门寻找有健康意识的冰淇淋,还是仅仅为了满足对甜食的需求?
  • 潜在客户位于哪里?本地、全国或国际?
  • 最后-这里是关键-你如何帮助提供有关冰淇淋的最佳内容,以培养一个社区,并实现所有这些人都在寻找的东西?提出这些问题是一个关键的计划步骤,它将指导你的关键词研究,并帮助你制作更好的内容。
  • 这个词是什么意思?

请记住,如果您被本章中使用的任何术语难倒,我们的SEO词汇表将提供帮助!

人们在寻找什么术语?

你可能有一种描述你所做的事情的方式,但是你的受众如何搜索你提供的产品、服务或信息呢?回答这个问题是关键词研究过程中至关重要的第一步。

发现关键词

你可能有一些你想排名的关键词。这些将像你的产品,服务,或其他主题你的网站地址,他们是伟大的种子关键字为您的研究,所以从那里开始!您可以将这些关键字输入关键字研究工具,以发现平均每月搜索量和类似的关键字。在下一节中,我们将更深入地了解搜索量,但在发现阶段,它可以帮助您确定您的关键字的哪些变体在搜索者中最受欢迎。

一旦您将种子关键字输入关键字研究工具,您将开始发现其他关键字、常见问题和您可能遗漏的内容主题。

让我们以一家专门经营婚礼的花店为例。

在关键字研究工具中键入“婚礼”和“花店”,您可能会发现高度相关、高度搜索的相关术语,例如:

  • 婚礼花束
  • 新娘花
  • 婚礼花店

在为内容查找相关关键字的过程中,您可能会注意到这些关键字的搜索量变化很大。虽然您肯定希望以受众正在搜索的术语为目标,但在某些情况下,以搜索量较低的术语为目标可能更有利,因为它们的竞争力要低得多。

因为高竞争性和低竞争性的关键词对你的网站都是有利的,所以了解更多关于搜索量的信息可以帮助你确定关键词的优先级,并选择那些能给你的网站带来最大战略优势的关键词。

多样化

重要的是要注意,整个网站不排名的关键字-网页做。对于大品牌,我们经常看到许多关键词的主页排名,但对于大多数网站来说,情况通常不是这样。许多网站接收到的网页流量比主页多,这就是为什么通过优化每一个网页以获得唯一有价值的关键词来实现网站页面多样化是如此重要的原因。

这些术语多久搜索一次?

发现搜索量

给定关键字或关键字短语的搜索量越大,通常需要进行更多的工作才能获得更高的排名。这通常被称为关键词难度,偶尔会包含SERP特征;例如,如果许多SERP特性(如特征片段、知识图、旋转木马等)阻塞了关键字的结果页面,那么难度就会增加。大品牌经常占据大批量关键词的前十名,因此,如果你刚刚开始在网络上搜索相同的关键词,那么排名的艰苦斗争可能需要数年的努力。

通常,搜索量越大,获得有机排名成功所需的竞争和努力就越大。但是,如果搜索率太低,你就有可能无法吸引任何搜索者访问你的网站。在许多情况下,针对高度特定、竞争性较低的搜索词可能是最有利的。在SEO中,我们称之为长尾关键词。

理解长尾

如果能为关键词“鞋子”排名1,那就太好了。。。还是会?

处理每月有50000次搜索,甚至每月有5000次搜索的关键词真是太好了,但实际上,这些流行搜索词只占网络上所有搜索的一小部分。事实上,搜索量非常大的关键词甚至可能表明意图不明确,如果你以这些术语为目标,那么你就有可能吸引目标与页面内容不匹配的访问者访问你的网站。

剩下的75%位于搜索的“中间粗块”和“长尾”。
关键词研究-长尾词理论
不要低估这些不太流行的关键词。搜索量较低的长尾关键字通常转换得更好,因为搜索者在搜索中更具体、更有意。例如,一个人搜索“鞋子”可能只是浏览。另一方面,有人在搜索“最便宜的红色女士7号跑步鞋”,他们的钱包几乎被掏空了!

使用搜索量获取战略信息

现在,您已经找到了站点的相关搜索词及其相应的搜索量,您可以通过查看竞争对手并找出搜索在季节或位置上的差异来获得更具战略性的信息。

按竞争对手列出的关键字

您可能会编译很多关键字。你怎么知道先对付哪个?对竞争对手目前没有排名的大量关键词进行优先排序可能是个好主意。另一方面,你也可以从你的列表中看到你的竞争对手已经在为哪些关键词排名,并对这些关键词进行优先级排序。当你想利用竞争对手错过的机会时,前者是很好的,而后者是一种积极的策略,让你为竞争对手已经表现良好的关键词而竞争。

按季节划分的关键词

了解季节性趋势有助于制定内容策略。例如,如果你知道“圣诞盒”在英国从10月到12月开始激增,你可以提前几个月准备内容,并在这几个月内大力推广。

地区关键字

通过在Google关键字规划器中将关键字搜索范围缩小到特定的城镇、县或州,或者在Google趋势中评估“按次区域的兴趣”,您可以更具战略性地针对特定的位置。特定于地理位置的研究有助于使您的内容与目标受众更相关。例如,您可能会发现,在德克萨斯州,大型卡车的首选术语是“大钻机”,而在纽约,“牵引拖车”是首选术语。

品牌营销米国生活范围.png

延伸阅读:

谷歌SEO参考【SEO术语和含义】

第一章:标准SEO101

第二章:搜索引擎如何工作:爬行,索引和排名

品牌漏斗BOO是什么品牌营销解决方案?

返回顶部